Skip to main content

Neutrogena® Clear & Defend Facial Wash

Neutrogena® Clear & Defend Facial Wash

Neutrogena® Visibly Clear Spot Proofing™ Daily Wash is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_AU, sid_4096, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_neutrogena-au
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 3.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No spots. No dry skin. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] At first I was dubious about another face wash. I try so many but they always seem to dry my face out or I end up with alot of spots. However with Neutrogena Visibly Clear Spot Proofing Daily Wash I was pleasantly surprised. First off I noticed the smell, it was very neutral. This is great for me I like a soap or a wash to have a neutral smell nothing to floral or even smell of chemicals. I have used this face wash for a few days now. I can honestly say that I will continue to use this face wash. No spots. No dry skin. It true is the face wash for me. Love!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised I bought this wash in an attempt to clear my painful blind pimples, which I only now struggle with, not so much in my adolescence (strangely). I was concerned as my skin had always been blemish-free throughout my life. I also suffer with eczema and tend to use sulfate-free, organic products. I was skeptical of this product at first, but was advised by a dermatologist to give it a go. It was harsher than what I was used to on my first wash, but immediately I noticed my acne was not reoccurring. The smell is lovely and it foams up well, I suggest using a generous amount of moisturiser after using this product if you have combination/dry skin like myself, but as an eczema sufferer, I tolerated this product very well. I'm pleased, will be purchasing again.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does this replace their spot clearing range? I bought this last week as I couldn't find the spot clearing range I had bought previously and it looked almost identical. Unfortunately it seems that this product doesn't have as much salicylic acid as the previous version. I'm pretty sure this is the main active ingredient and the old version had 2% salicylic acid. I'd like to confirm if this actually has less in as the 2% in the old version was the reason I bought it. It's surely less effective with a lower amount. It seems to have been replaced with some trademarked marketing bluff? Disappointing if that's the case as it's the same price.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great, but made my acne worse!! I brought this after using my sisters since I forgot my face wash at her house. I loved how it made my skin feel and the scent is lovely yet subtle. I started using it everyday and I noticed my acne got worse. My skin is normally pretty clear, but I got a few spots/pimples on my face after using it for a few days straight. My skin improved and went back to normal as soon as I took a break from using it. Apparently salicylic acid can make you experience dryness and/or irritation which can make your skin more prone to acne. If your skin is naturally dry then I wouldn't recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neutrogena visably clear. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been using this product neutrogena visably clear spot proofing daily wash for a little over a week now and i must say i am impressed with it. I have tried many product to help with acne as i do get quite a few spots that are hard to clear up. The great points with this spot wash is it smells nice, leaves my skin feeling soft and i my face feels clean all day. If this is not enough it cleared up 98% of my spots and made my skin look healthier. I will recommend this wash to friends and family. Also will continue to use it myself.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty decent! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I had anticipated this wash to be a little too harsh for my dry skin as it contains salicylic acid which is great for spots but not so great for people with dry skin. I was also sceptical as the instructions said to use twice a day: thus I assumed would be far too much for me. I was very pleasantly surprised! The wash is nice and gentle and not at all drying. Your skin is left feeling super smooth and very clean, perfect for avoiding blemishes. I don't have particularly blemish prone skin unless it's hormonal so I didn't notice a huge difference in terms of frequency of spots but I really loved the way it left my skin feeling and looking; soft and fresh.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my new favourite cleansers! It did everything it promised, by removing oil and leaving my skin feeling clean, without drying. My skin is mildly sensitive, but this product didn't make my skin feel tight or irritated, it was just a very soft yet effective cleanser. I use one pump of product with lathers nicely to a foamy consistency, before rinsing. I always follow this by using the toner and moisturiser in the same range. I would highly recommend this product! 
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favourite product from this line! This wash was really, really good for me. My skin is oily and prone to breakouts, I was apprehensive when I was first using this wash because I thought it was going to be just like others, but I was pleasantly surprised. After using it for about a week, my skin was really clear compared to normal and I have found that it has kept my breakouts at bay. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to keep their skin clear. 
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Massive regret A few days ago I decided to purchase this product along with the Neutrogena Spot proofing moisturiser, scrub and 2 in one mask/wash... This was a terrible mistake. My skin, after one use, has broken out in a bumpy, red rash and has caused to face to swell. It honestly looks like a chemical burn. My skin has NEVER reacted to any product like this before and I’m seriously disappointed. Do yourself a favour and don’t waste your money on any of these products
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG this cleanser is absolutely the holy grail of all face washes. I have been trialling the visibly clear range and I haven't had a breakout since starting and any breakouts I have had have significantly cleared up. it is pleasant in smell and is a lovely texture to use on the face. I used this product in the shower and over the sink and works wonders - especially when I have make up on it takes it off almost instantaneously with little effort required in scrubbing. Will definitely be continuing on with this range and promoting this range, very impressed.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena is amazing [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I'm always very careful what I put on my skin due to sensitivity, but this is amazing, not only does it smell wonderful, it leaves my skin silky smooth and feeling exceptionally fresh, my skin is clearer fresher and feels incredibly clean, I would recommend anyone to try Neutrogena and see the results straight away, my skin is spot free, and haven't had any recent break outs, you have to try this amazing wash on your face, this will now be my go to face wash,
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neutrogena has a true winner in this daily wash! After removing my makeup this product is exactly what I needed to cleanse and remove the dirt, oil and leftover makeup residue from the working day. It lathers nicely and refreshes the skin to feel smooth and purified. This product helped to reduce my acne breakouts and although I still experienced some of the nasty hormonal breakouts I'm happy with the outcome of this product. I would recommend this product in conjunction with the toner from this range for those who have acne prone skin like myself. 
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena Visibly Clear [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love this face wash only used it 3 times so far it's a twice a day was but can feel and see difference already!! My skin is quite naturally oily and spot prone but even after I use my skin felt soft and it smells really nice too. Normally once i put make up on half way through the day my face looks oily since using this it doesn't, if you're looking for a face wash to make your skin feel softer and look less shiny I would definitely recommend this! amazing best face wash by far that I've used
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This product helps to clear your spots as well as stops new ones coming. After using this I noticed that my skin was more health and smoother. The second day in I already noticed a difference with my spots clearing. It is important to use it day and night or it may not work as well as it has for me. This product doesn't leave your skin feeling greasy and has a nice smell to it too. Would definitely recommend it to not only those who suffer from break outs but just everyone in general
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Neutragena product to date! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was sceptical when I tried this product as I've not had much success in the past with Neutragena products. This has definitely changed! Firstly the smell is lovely, I find some spot fighting products smell awful but this is a fruity smell so 10/10 for me on smell. It's also a great consistency, not too runny and not really thick like sun cream. It also doesn't foam up loads which is a bonus as you can see exactly where the product is going. I'm currently 20 weeks pregnant and suffering with bad skin, this product has really helped in reducing my breakouts but also clearly up any spots I have quickly. I could see a difference in a matter of days. I will definitely be continuing to use this product!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena visibly clear face wash [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been using this product for 3 days now and I am so impressed so far. Its very simply to use and is to be used twice a day, morning and night. After use my skin feels great, so soft and clean. I have suffered spots on and off all of my life, and feel that after using this product and seeing the results after 3 days is a great feeling. Plus this product smells great! I will continue to use morning and night and look forward to seeing more results in the upcoming days/ weeks.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really works! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have started using Neutrogena Visibly clear spot proofing daily wash and I can see an improvement in my skin already! I suffer from spot prone skin, mainly my chin,nose and forehead, but most spots have cleared up already since using this product. I've also not had any new spots since! I have quite sensitive skin so can sometimes come out in a rash with a new product but that has been great, my skin looks fresh and feels so smooth. Will continue to use this in the future.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena visibly clear [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I'll admit I was bit skeptical at first, most daily washes I have tried tend to dry out my face over time so I'll be honest I expected the same. I was really surprised how soft my skin felt after just one days use. Again I thought this was because it was the first day and my skin would eventually dry out with more uses. After seven days use I can say that this neutrogena daily wash has become and will stay as part of my daily routine. I'm even finding that I don't need to use moisturiser as part of my routine anymore as my skin is so much softer and looks cleaner. This was such an easy product to use and a little goes a long way. It takes two minutes which is great when your a busy mother to three children. It smells great and it feels lovely on your skin and not greasy which I have found others to be. I would definitely recommend this product to others. It has made my skin feel great and gives me one less thing to worry about.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh and clean [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been using this product for a week now before bed to help get all my make up and other impurities off my skin. When I came to use the product it was in an easy pump bottle so no faffing with swirly lids or caps. The product is clear so it won't stain should it drip on the sink or your clothes. It left my skin feeling clean and refreshed and I haven't had any new blemishes since I've been using it. My only thought is that it left my skin a little bit tight but nothing a good moisturise can't sort out. Definitely doesn't taste good so don't get any on the lips or in the mouth but then I'm pretty sure it's not a mouthwash so... overall very happy, it does its job very well which is exactly what you want from a product.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad I bought this product thinking it will help clear my skin. I never suffered from severe acne only got a few pimples here and there. After using this product, I got massive persistent breakouts. I have never experienced a breakout this bad. Really disappointment.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made it worse. I bought this daily wash plus daily scrub and moisturizer a week ago at boots must say that I'm very disappointed, my skin got worse. I have oily/combination, sensitive and acne prone skin and by the reviews I thought this was going to be the best thing I would ever find... Well my skin has now dry patches, hurts to the touch, I got texture (which I never had before), bumps and whiteheads all over my face and it's itchy... I'm sorry but I do not recommend it and I won't purchase this again.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I think this is one of those skincare products that you automatically should have on your bathroom shelf. It is very easy and hassle free to use and does not need too much routine. You can just use it to wash your face as the last thing just before you leave the shower. it also does not leave your face dry after use. It's a product you use every day and the results just show after a while of using it. I love have loved every minute of using it!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's pretty good. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I wanted to give the Neutrogena spot proofing wash a decent test time before I reviewed it, so I tried it for a few weeks now so I'll spill the tea. It smells delightful, a little citrusy but has the smell of salicylic acid, which personally I don't mind as my skin reacts positively to it. When used daily, it really works, I had some of the best skin days since using this. I noticed when I stopped using it (went out of town for a few days) The reason I give it 4 stars and not 5 is because of the foaming formula. It doesn't foam well, when I try and foam it in my hands, it melts into nothing so I have to quickly slap it on my face and end up using 2-3 pumps and I seem to always get it in my mouth. It doesn't taste as good as it smells. In conclusion, good product and it does work however the foaming agent needs work though :)
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Breakouts almost instantly I bought this product and after just 3 uses my skin had broken out like never before! It made my skin so dry (which it usually isn’t) to the point that my nose area was peeling. Waste of money!
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely loved using the Neutrogena Visibly Clear Spot Proofing Daily Wash! I have used the product twice daily - morning and night for over a week now and i have definitely noticed a really big difference in my skin. The daily wash comes out like a clear gel but then turns to a foam when you rub it into your skin. It is very smooth to apply and instantly refreshes your face. My skin feels much smoother and most of my black heads have gone! I have definitely noticed a reduction in breakouts and my skin feels so much cleaner and smoother. This product was definitely suited to my concerns and it really did help my skin! I would 100% recommend this product to those people who struggle with breakouts and also those who don't, as it certainly brightens your face and you feel so clean! 10/10 for me :) 
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic results! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I started using this product this week and was having a breakout in my chin. It calmed down after one use and had completely gone after 2/3. The wash lathers a little and felt lovely on my skin - perfect as I have sensitive skin. The pump provided a small amount but it goes a long way meaning it will last longer. This wash is great value for money and given the great results this will become a regular product in my toiletry bag!
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have oily skin with some dry patches, so I was concerned this cleanser would dry out my skin even more, but I actually really enjoy using it. It doesn't smell too strong or too bad, it cleanses my skin, and isn't too rough on my dry patches. Using it with the rest of the range, I've noticed a few less pimples in my problem areas and my already-marked skin appears to be clearing up faster. Pros:-good smell-cleans face nicely-not too drying-not too harsh-spots seem to clear faster.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena® Visibly Clear® Spot Proofing™ Daily Wash Is most likely my favourite product from this range. I thoiroighly enjoyed the slight foam it produced when used. It has a subtle clean smell - which all the products from the Visibly Clear range have, and I love.  The wash wasn’t drying to the skin and perfectly gentle. With a combination of all products in the range I saw a complete clearance of small pimples I previously had on my forehead. Would definitely recommend to all! 
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have oily/combination skin and generally found this was a good low/mid price cleanser. I used the product morning and night, and it had a pleasant fragrance and didn't strip my skin. I wouldn't use or recommend it as the only cleanser in your skin care routine - I still used a scrub a few times a week and double cleansed in order to reduce breakouts. Also by Neutrogena but in a different range, I prefer the Hydroboost cleanser (with hyaluronic acid) to this cleanser.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neutrogena Visibly clear daily face Wash [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I will definitely be repurchasing this face wash, I have only been using this face wash for the past two days twice a day but I can definitely tell that there's been a reduction in my blackheads and little blemishes already. I have to say that It cleanses your face without it feeling dry and tight afterwards. I love the fresh citrus smell and the pump bottle makes it super easy to use, I'm very happy with this product
Date published: 2017-08-09
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_AU, sid_4096, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_neutrogena-au
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 271.04ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT